// Computing

About the Track

You are invited to submit your work to the Computing Track of SBGames 2009. The computing track will feature both full papers and technical posters (short papers):

Full Papers must report mature work in the area of games and digital entertainment (a list of topics of interest is shown below). They should be written in ENGLISH and do not exceed 10 pages.

Technical Posters (Short papers) are suitable for short reports on game research and development and works which are not mature enough for a complete publication. They may be written in Portuguese or English and are limited to 4 pages.

All contributions must be original, unpublished work. Any work that has previously been published or is been simultaneously submitted in similar form to any other conference or journal will be rejected. Accepted papers will be published in the Conference Proceedings, and at least one author must be registered, attend, and present the work at the symposium.

Submissions will be made electronically through the JEMS System. Papers will be subjected to a double blind review system, thus authors must avoid including information that allow their identification (names, affiliations, explicit self-references, project names, etc). Both full and short papers must follow the formatting guidelines shown below.

The authors of the best papers will be invited by the editors of the ACM CIE to submit an extended version of their papers to be published in the ACM Computers in Entertainment (To be confirmed).

Topics of relevance include, but are not restricted to:

  • Accessibility
  • Affective computing
  • Architectures, engines, and design patterns
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Augmented Reality
  • Camera techniques
  • Computer Animation
  • Computer Graphics
  • Console programming
  • Convergence of areas in game development
  • Crowd Simulation
  • Dedicated hardware
  • Development process and tools
  • Emotional agents
  • Facial expressions
  • Game audio techniques
  • Games in Education
  • Human-computer interfaces
  • Interactive and 3D sound
  • Interactive digital TV
  • Massive Multiplayer Games
  • Mobile computing
  • Models and Infrastructure for networked games
  • Parallel Processing CPU-GPU
  • Pervasive and crossmedia games
  • Physical modeling
  • Procedural modeling
  • Programming languages and techniques
  • Realistic physics
  • Sensors and interface hardware
  • Serious games systems
  • Storytelling
  • Virtual reality


Important notice: topics addressing game design (including specific-style games, graphics and sound), as well as digital art, should be submitted to Arts & Design track. Papers related to Cultural, Educational, and Social aspects of digital games should be submitted to the Culture track).


Computing Track Program Committee Chairs

  • Chair: Luiz Chaimowicz (UFMG)
  • Co-chair: Fernando Trinta (UNIFOR)
  • Local Chair: Hugo Fuks (PUC-Rio)

Technical Program Committee

  • Adelailson Peixoto (Universidade Federal de Alagoas)
  • Alexandre Sztajnberg (Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro)
  • André Campos (University of Utrecht)
  • Bruno Feijó (PUC-Rio)
  • Cesar Pozzer (Universidade Federal de Santa Maria)
  • Christian Hofsetz (Microsoft - USA)
  • Clauirton Siebra (Universidade Federal de Pernambuco)
  • Danielle Rousy (CIn-UFPE)
  • Edmond Prakash (Manchester Metropolitan University)
  • Esteban Clua (Universidade Federal Fluminense)
  • Fábio Cecin (UFRGS)
  • Fernando Osório (USP - Universidade de São Paulo)
  • Fernando Trinta (Universidade de Fortaleza - UNIFOR)
  • Flávio Soares da Silva (Universidade de São Paulo)
  • Geber Ramalho (Universidade Federal de Pernambuco)
  • Hugo Fuks (PUC-Rio)
  • Hugo Pinto (Artificial Intelligence Engineers)
  • Ido Iurgel (Universidade do Minho)
  • Jacques Brancher (URI - Campus de Erechim)
  • Jim TerKeurst (University of Teesside)
  • João Comba (UFRGS)
  • John Nordlinger (Microsoft Research)
  • Jorge Barbosa (Unisinos)
  • José Saito (Universidade Federal de São Carlos)
  • Judith Kelner (UFPE)
  • Laércio Ferracioli (Universidade Federal do Espírito Santo)
  • Lauro Kozovits (UERJ)
  • Licínio Roque (Universidade de Coimbra)
  • Luiz Chaimowicz (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais)
  • Luiz Gonzaga Jr. (UNISINOS)
  • Manuel M. Oliveira Neto (UFRGS)
  • Marcelo Walter (UFPE)
  • Márcio Leal Dahia (UFPE)
  • Maria Andréia Rodrigues (Universidade de Fortaleza)
  • Martin Hanneghan (Liverpool John Moores University)
  • Michael Youngblood (The University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
  • Patricia Tedesco (UFPE)
  • Paulo Pagliosa (Universidade Federal de Mato Grosso do Sul)
  • Paulo Rodacki Gomes (FURB - Universidade Regional de Blumenau)
  • Renato Ferreira (UFMG)
  • Romero Tori (Centro Universitário Senac / USP)
  • Sérgio Scheer (Universidade Federal do Paraná)
  • Sílvio Cazella (Unisinos)
  • Soraia Musse (PUC-RS)
  • Vincent Corruble (Université Paris VI)
  • Waldemar Celes (Tecgraf / PUC-Rio)
  • Wallace Santos Lages (Ilusis Interactive Graphics)
  • Zenilton Patrocínio Jr (PUC-Minas)


Notification of Acceptance: Monday, August 31, 2009

Camera-ready: Monday, September 14, 2009

Symposium: October 8-10, 2009